The Dirty Dirty
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

On the Geneology of Morality and the meaning of words 'good', 'bad', and 'evil'.

5 posters

Go down

On the Geneology of Morality and the meaning of words 'good', 'bad', and 'evil'.   Empty On the Geneology of Morality and the meaning of words 'good', 'bad', and 'evil'.

Post  Architektonikon Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:20 pm

What I am about to rehearse is a historical argument postulated by Friedrich Nietzsche in On the Genealogy of Morals. I feel compelled to rehearse this because it was one of the arguments which intrigued me so greatly that I switched my major to philosophy when I was an undergraduate.

Nietzsche begs us to seriously think about what the words 'good', bad', and 'evil' really mean and how they came to mean what they do. In order to do this, he suggests that we look at what these words first meant and then trace their meanings through history til now. He first looks at the classical languages. In both Greek and Latin, the words 'good' and 'bad' have a strong social connotation. 'Kalon' (the Greek word for 'good'), for example, meant not only good but beautiful, fine, and noble. The noble classes in antiquity were the ones who were literate and created the language, words, and their usage. In turn, they gave the name 'good' to describe themselves. Hence, 'good' in antiquity means the clean, the few, the healthy, well-born, the strong, the smart, the rich, etc. Correspondingly, 'bad' meant the many, the common, the poor, the dirty, the sick, the weak, the dumb, etc. (if you remember the 'noble' lie from our last discussion, the word 'noble' here in Greek literally means noble Wink ). So, to recapitulate, in ancient times the words good and bad were given by the royal or noble classes. These words were used to describe classes in their societies. Good corresponds to the noble class and Bad to the underclass.